+91 9821599237
+91 98215 99237
बस अब दु:ख और नहीं
Call Us: +91-124-6674671

Understanding the Meaning of Rahu Dasha

Understanding the Meaning of Rahu Dasha

What is Rahu? Rahu, according to the Vedic astrology (and referred in the Western astrology as well) is regarded as one of the nine planets, which is paired with Ketu. Rahu is considered to be a rouge planet. Rahu and Ketu are referred as planets in Astrology for the sake of convenience, studies, calculations, interpretations and predictions. They are not actually physical planets (like Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars etc are planets), but are in actual fact - points of intersection of the paths of the celestial bodies – the sun and the moon, on the celestial sphere. Simply, Rahu and Ketu may be regarded as mathematical points in time (especially an aspect-used in Janam Kundali (Natal/birth chart)). Per Vedic Astrology, they are given the status of planets due to its powerfulness, characteristics-effects of a planet etc. They are also sometimes referred as shadow planets.

Like the moon takes about 27-28 days to travel through each of the 12 zodiac signs, the sun takes about 30 days to travel through each of the signs, mercury takes about 1 year to travel through the 12 signs, Venus takes and stays 23 days to 2 months in a zodiac sign etc, Rahu and Ketu that move in retrograde (opposite) motion, and take around 1.5 years to travel through each of the horoscopic signs. The moon takes 27.32 days to make one complete circle-trip (orbit) around the Earth and spends 2 ½ days in each of them (zodiac signs/ Rashis). Below is a brief related indication:

Celestial Body

Time taken to make

one orbit around the Sun

Time spent in each Sign
The Sun - 30 days 
The Moon - 27-28 days
Mercury        88 days 14-30 days
Venus      225 days ~23 to 60+ days
Earth 365 days -
Mars       687 days ~45 days
Jupiter   4,332 days (~12 year) ~1 year
Saturn 10,760 days (~29.5 years) ~2.5 years
Uranus 30,700 days (~84 years) ~7 years
Neptune 60,200 days (~165 years) ~14 years
Pluto* 90,600 days (~248 years) ~14 to 30 years

*Pluto is now sometimes not regarded as a planet (especially in Astronomy)

Rahu is the north (ascending-rising from the south to north) lunar node and Ketu is the south (descending-from the north to south) lunar node. The inclination is about 5 degrees to the ecliptic (circular path on the celestial sphere). However, it can be inclined about 23.4 degrees to the celestial equator (in reference-relation to the rotational axis – tilt of the Earth in its revolving). There is benefic Rahu and malefic Rahu. Rahu is said to stay about 18 months (1.5 years) in a particular horoscope (zodiac or Rashi).

What is Dasha? Dasha (Sanskrit word) is a state (condition) in a time frame, period of life. Dasha changes from time-to-time as per the movement-positioning of the planets. It has good effects and bad effects from time-to-time, condition-to-condition, according to the Rashi (sun sign), House (of the 12 Houses), combinations-conjunctions of planets etc. 

What are the remedies for Rahu Dasha? Rahu Kaal is associated with the malefic Rahu, like an inauspicious time. 

How to check Rahu in your horoscope? Firstly, an analysis and accurate interpretation of Janam Kundali (Natal/birth chart) is required. The prerequisite for best result is to have accurate information on the native’s birth date-time-place data. For consultancy on this, please call us on +91 – 124- 6674671. An appointment with best Astrologer Astro-Scientist Gurudev GD Vashist ji is also possible at address 507, Udyog Vihar, Phase 3, Gurugram (Gurgaon), India

Free Prediction Yes I Can Change Date Published : 19 Dec 2017
Free Future Prediction
View all blogs
Kundli Free Prediction
Match Making Kundli

like & follow

Contact Info
Follow Us

We accept all these major cards

Free Future Prediction
Copyright © 2005 - 2019. GD Vashist & Associates Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
हिंदी में पढ़े Yes I Can Change